Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Wins 21 First Place Awards in 2022 Arkansas Press Women Competition


The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette won 21 first-place awards Saturday in the 2022 Arkansas Press Women’s Communications Contest.

The newspaper website,, won top honors in the business or for-profit category. Senior Editor Maggie McNeary and Associate Editor Josh Snyder were on the list for the award.

The newspaper also took the top spot in corporate or for-profit social media presence for its Facebook page with staffers Snyder and Nyssa Kruse sharing the honors. The newspaper won in the web copy category for “Vaccine Information.” The co-participants were McNeary, Barry Arthur, Brian Smith and Kruse.

Newsletter editor Stevie Nielson and co-participant Snyder won the for-profit newsletter category for Coronavirus Update. Kruse won the social media campaign for the business or for-profit category for “Children in Peril.”

Religion editor and former Washington correspondent Frank E. Lockwood won two first-place awards. Its account, “Reporter hunkers in the middle of the scrum“, from the January 6 riot at the United States Capitol won first place for a personal essay. He also won for “Still with mein the religion category.

Photographer Thomas Metthe won first place, single photo for “Wrestling state tournament.” Photographer Stephen Swofford won first place for “To make a sensation“Photographer Staci Vandigriff won first place in single news photo for”8 tickets.”

The reporting team led by Noel Oman won first place in the continuous or unfolding news coverage of the Interstate-40 bridge crack. His co-participants were Tess Vrbin, Neal Earley and Frank E. Lockwood.

Columnist Philip Martin took top honors for critics with “Williams, Isbell Live.”

Journalist Teresa Moss won for writing with “A Closed Door.”

Editor-in-Chief Rachel O’Neal won first place for Articles in the Style section for “Ashamed to cheer — Kirby House.” His co-participant was photographer Cary Jenkins.

Media editor Nick Popowitch won Video for Web for 2021″Little Rock Marathon.”

Journalist Jeannie Roberts won first place writing in the social issues category for “transgender children.”

The top spot in history articles went to editor Celia Storey for “Tom Slaughter” part 1.

Former reporters Kat Stromquist, Ginny Monk and Eric Besson won first place in in-depth reporting for “Centers for Youth” investigation.

Bill Bowden won first place in the green/environment category for “Ivory-billed woodpecker.”

Editor-in-Chief Karen Martin won for Columns, Personal Opinion for “Immigrant background.”

Journalist Tess Vrbin won the best reporting award for “Torn State of Storms.”

Arkansas Press Women is an association of communicators who work in journalism, public information, business, education and government. The awards were given for work published in 2021.

To see the full list of winners, go to:


About Author

Comments are closed.