Dozens of New Jersey school districts will close on Diwali in 2022


Welcoming 23 New Jersey public school districts closing their schools on Diwali this year, Hindus are urging all public school districts and private independent schools in the state to close their most popular festival, Diwali.

Hindu statesman Rajan Zed said it just wasn’t fair to Hindu students at most schools in New Jersey because they had to be at school on their most popular holiday when there were holidays to commemorate the holidays of other religions, according to a prepared statement.

Diwali falls on October 24 this year and the 2022-2023 calendars of Bernards Township, Bridgewater-Raritan Regional, Central Bucks, Cherry Hill, Clifton, East Brunswick, Edison, Fair Lawn, Glen Rock, Hillsborough;

Hopewell Valley Regional, Livingston, Marlboro, Millburn, Monroe Township, Montgomery, Paramus, Parsippany-Troy Hills, Piscataway, Robbinsville; and

Regional schools in Sayreville, South Brunswick and West Windsor-Plainsboro will be closed to students.

Additionally, schools in Colts Neck Township, Englewood Cliffs, and West Long Branch offer a short session day, single session, or early dismissal, respectively.

Zed, who is president of the Universal Society of Hinduism, said making Diwali a school holiday in New Jersey would be a step in the right direction given the reported presence of large numbers of Hindu students in state schools, as was the case. important to cater to the religious and spiritual needs of Hindu students, the statement said.

Zed said that since it was important for Hindu families to celebrate Diwali with their children at home, closing schools on Diwali would ensure that and also show how respectful and accommodating schools in New Jersey are. their faith, according to the statement.

If schools had declared other religious holidays, why not Diwali, Zed asked in the statement. The holidays of all major religions should be honored and no one should be penalized for practicing their religion, Zed added.

The New Jersey State Board of Education’s list of religious holidays allowing students to be absent from school contains 21 Hindu holidays: Guru Purnima, Onam, Naga Panchami, Raksha Bandhan, Krishna Janmashtami, Ganesh Chaturthi, Navaratri, Diwali, Goverdhan Puja, Makar Sankranti, Pongal, Vasant Panchami, Maha Shivaratri, Govinda Dwadashi, Meena Sankranthi, Holika Dahan, Holi, Souramana Yugadi, Chandramana Yugadi, Ramnavami, Hanuman Jayanti. Onam is listed here for 12 days, Navaratri for nine days and Diwali for five, according to the statement.


About Author

Comments are closed.