Former winners Sexton and Dupont on the 2022 list: PlanetRugby


There are two former winners on the list of four nominees for the 2022 World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year.

Johnny Sexton won the award in 2018 and is back on the list this year alongside 2021 winner Antoine Dupont.

Sacristan is joined by his Irish teammate Josh van der Flier while South Africa kingpin Lukhanyo Am is also there.

Ultimate Reward

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “The World Rugby Awards are the ultimate accolades for rugby, and we are delighted to honor outstanding players and individuals who have had an impact on our game on and in off the pitch in 2022.

“On behalf of World Rugby, I would like to congratulate all of the nominees for this 22nd edition for their incredible achievements over the past calendar year. Not only have they displayed tremendous rugby skills, but they have also inspired millions. of fans around the world by helping to spread the values ​​of our sport.

“I look forward to welcoming the global rugby family next Sunday under the high patronage of HSH Princess Charlene of Monaco and the Principality for a night of celebration in Monte-Carlo.”

For the second year in a row, there are no New Zealand nominees in the 15-year-old male player of the year category, although Portia Woodman and Ruahei Demant are in the running for the women’s award.

Ireland are well represented everywhere with Andy Farrell among those nominated for Coach of the Year, with Dan Sheehan on the Breakthrough Player list.

2022 World Rugby Awards nominees

World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year

Maud Muir (ENG)
Vitalina Naikore (IFJ)
Maiakawanakaulani Roos (NZL)
Ruby Tui (NZL)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year

Henry Arundell (ENG)
Angel Capuozzo (ITA)
Mack Hansen (IRE)
Dan Sheehan (IRE)

World Rugby Coach of the Year

Andy Farrell (15 year old male from Ireland)
Fabien Galthié (France Men 15)
Simon Middleton (England 15 Women)
Wayne Smith (15 year old female from New Zealand)

International Women’s Rugby Try of the Year

Sylvia Brunt (New Zealand – Wales on October 16)
Emily Chancellor (Australia, v England October 30)
Abby Dow (England v Canada on November 5)
Linda Djougang (Ireland, v Wales on March 26)
Nomawethu Mabenge (South Africa, v Spain on August 12)

International Rugby Players’ Men’s Trial of the Year

Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile, v USA July 9)
Lalakai Foketi (Australia – France on November 5)
Chris Harris (Scotland, v Italy March 12)
Edoardo Padovani (Italy, v Wales on March 19)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales, v South Africa on July 2)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year

Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Maddison Levi (Australia)
Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe (IRE)
Faith Nathan (Australia)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year

Terry Kennedy (IRE)
Nick Malouf (Australia)
Kaminieli Rasaku (IJF)
Corey Toole (Australia)

World Rugby 15 Player of the Year

Antoine Dupont (ENG)
Johnny Sexton (IRE)
Lukhanyo Am (RSA)
Josh van der Flier (IRE)

World Rugby 15 Player of the Year

Sophie de Goede (CAN)
Ruahei Demant (NZL)
Alex Matthews (ENG)
Laura Sansus (FRA)
Portia Woodman (NZL)

READ MORE: Autumn Nations Series Team of the Week: France dominate while Italy are also rewarded


About Author

Comments are closed.