List of news | City of OKC


The comment period for the Oklahoma City Human Rights Commission’s proposed ordinance has been extended until July 5, and the city council meeting to consider its passage is scheduled for July 19.

Residents can review the proposed order and weigh in by filling out an online feedback form. Human Rights Commission Task Force meetings can be viewed on YouTube from the City account, CityofOKC.

Among other functions, the Human Rights Commission will be responsible for addressing alleged harms caused to persons discriminated against because of their race, color, religion, creed, sex, sex, national origin, age, marital status, information genetics or disability. related to employment, housing, and public housing under Oklahoma’s anti-discrimination law.

The proposed ordinance creates a human rights commission composed of nine members. Each of the eight city council members will recommend someone to represent their ward to the mayor. The mayor will appoint a person at large, who will act as chair of the commission. A member must be a lawyer.

Initially, members representing even wards will serve for two years and members representing odd wards will serve for three years. After initial service, terms will be three years.

Some of the Commission’s responsibilities include:

  • Coordinate with the community, including public and private agencies, to promote human rights.
  • Work with law enforcement by reporting violations or apparent violations of anti-discrimination laws.
  • Mediation of complaints alleging violations of anti-discrimination law.
  • Recommend studies or surveys that promote anti-discrimination policies.
  • Produce an annual report of the commission’s activities.
  • Establish advisory committees to assist the commission.
  • Participate in at least one educational event per year that promotes human rights.

The commission will consist of a compliance officer appointed by the city manager.

The city’s first human rights commission met from 1980 until it was repealed in 1996.

Context of the working group

Mayor David Holt established the Human Rights Commission Task Force in 2020 and appointed the following co-chairs: Ward 7 Councilor Nikki Nice, Maurianna Adams and Dr. Andrea Benjamin. They led the group as it drafted a proposal for the city council.

Members of the working group included:

  • Municipal councilor for district 7 Nikki Nice (co-president)
  • Maurianna Adams (co-chair)
  • Dr. Andrea Benjamin (co-chair)
  • Ward Councilor 6 JoBeth Hamon
  • Todd Stone, Ward 4 Councilor
  • Mark Stonecipher, Ward 8 Councilor
  • Chelsea Branham
  • Dr Quintin Hughes, Sr.
  • Sharda Allen
  • Tasneem Al-Michael
  • Lt. Miguel Baez
  • Deputy Chief Vashina Butler
  • Major Fred “Tink” Collins
  • Valerie Canape
  • Crispy crow
  • Reverend Larry Crudup
  • Maziel Dani
  • Brandi Davis
  • Day’Quann Ervin
  • Cynthia Garcia
  • David room
  • Anna Harman
  • Rabbi Vered Harris
  • Melvin Harris
  • Jason Henderson
  • Dr. Marsha Dempsey Herron
  • Deborah Jenkins
  • JessicaRose Johnson
  • Laura Lang
  • Gabriel Moraux
  • ebony mohammed
  • Ayanna Najuma
  • Cyndi Nguyen
  • Thuan Nguyen
  • Sache Primeaux Shaw
  • Seth Rot
  • Adam Soltani
  • Angelique Villalobos
  • Dr. Angel Wilson
  • Bruce Alexander


Media Contact: Kristy Yager, (405) 297-2550, [email protected]


About Author

Comments are closed.