Tensions high at BJP meeting to decide MCD tickets, central unit intervenes; first list of candidates published


The central BJP has taken over the distribution of tickets for the MCD elections after intense disputes erupted among election committee members from the 22 member states during a meeting over the issue.

The panel, led by Delhi Unity Chairman Adesh Gupta, includes Union Minister and Delhi MP Meenakshi Lekhi, fellow Delhi MPs Ramvir Bidhuri, Vijay Goel, Pawan Sharma, Satish Upadhayay and d ‘others.

The meeting, held at Western Court in central Delhi late Thursday night, saw a war of words between MPs, many of whom disagreed with state unit heads over the distribution of tickets , sources said. Sources said the East Delhi MP Gautam Gambhir had a disagreement with party leader Vijay Goel and state secretary general Kuljeet Chahal; Parvesh Verma, MP for West Delhi, with Ashish Sood and Pawan Sharma; MP Meenakshi Lekhi with former state president Satish Upadhayay; and MP Ramesh Bidhuri with opposition leader Ramvir Bidhuri.

Sources also said that Gambhir was also unhappy with MP Harsh Vardhan suggesting names of candidates from East Delhi constituency, which Gambhir represents in lok sabha. “Even Hans Raj Hans, who is otherwise not active in Delhi, was upset as he wanted tickets for a leadership group,” a party leader said.

“MPs insisted they knew who was working locally, who had worked all those years, while state unit leaders lobbied for another group of party workers who they believe deserved tickets,” he said.

This led to a situation where tensions rose and feuds broke out, with leaders ultimately failing to reach consensus. “The overall result was that central management took charge,” he said.

BJP MP Bidhuri, when contacted, said: “The meeting lasted very long, until late at night… We gave three names for each ward to the central unit, so the role of the committee is ended”.

Another BJP leader said Santhosh ji (BJP National General Secretary, Organization, BL Santhosh) took matters into his own hands and a meeting was held on Friday. He will now solicit suggestions from MPs or heads of state units if he sees fit.

The party also decided that BJP chairman JP Nadda, Delhi official Baijayant Panda, top leader Alka Gurjar, Delhi organization secretary general Siddharthan and state chairman Adesh Gupta would be involved in the distribution. tickets.

Sources said a meeting was likely to take place on Saturday, led by Nadda, at which the names would be finalized.

Later on Saturday, the Delhi BJP released its first list of 232 candidates, which includes 126 women as well as 9 former mayors, the party said in a statement. The rest will be announced later.

The names were announced after Nadda’s endorsement, Delhi BJP General Secretary Harsh Malhotra said. The party also gave a religious and caste breakdown of its candidates. Malhotra said among the candidates are 23 Punjabis, 21 Vaishyas, 42 Brahmins, 34 Jats, 26 Purvanchalis, 22 Rajputs, 17 Gujjars, 13 Jatavs, 9 Balmikis, 9 Yadavs, one Sindhi and two from Uttarakhand. “The list also includes 7 Sikhs, 3 Muslims and one from the Jain community,” he said.

The list also includes the names of 41 outgoing advisers. A total of 52 former councilors from the past 10 years also received tickets. Past mayors in office include Raja Iqbal Singh, Avtar Singh, Neema Bhagat, Sunita Kangda among others.

The elections will take place on December 4 and the counting will take place on December 7.


About Author

Comments are closed.